Integrate YouTube with your phpBB Forum

With Youtube gaining popularity, more and more phpBB boards want to allow their members to post YouTube videos in their posts. I am sure most of you reading this watch Youtube videos and share them. Here we guide you on how to add YouTube videos to your phpBB forums.While phpBB has some of the most popular BBCodes included by default, you can also add your own . This article will explain how to add your own custom BBCodes. PhpBB3 has a powerful new feature that lets you add your own BBCodes directly from an easy to use admin panel interface –no MODS or code changes needed.

To do this, login to Administrative Control Panel (ACP) and click on the ‘Posting’ tab at the top. Click on the ‘Add a New BBCode’ button in the bottom right of the page. This will open up three text input areas, BBCode usage, HTML replacement, and Help line text box -where you can enter a tip on how to use your new BBCode.

Enter the following in the ‘BBCode usage’ box:

[YouTube]http://www.YouTube.com/watch?v={TEXT}[/YouTube]

Enter the following in the ‘HTML replacement’ box:

And finally enter the following in the ‘Help line text’ box:

[YouTube]http://www.YouTube.com/watch?v=SZqwvjwqwK4&feature=fvw [/YouTube]

Now, to use the new [YouTube][/YouTube] BBcode tags you just created on posting page, you need to insert the YouTube Video ID of the YouTube video you want to add in between the tags. You will now be able to embed YouTube videos on your forum.

10 responses to “Integrate YouTube with your phpBB Forum

  1. Hey there,

    Coty Candide from Paris, France.
    I’m a software developer, I want to say that I am glad to have my little space on this website/forum.
    Hope to chat to many of you soon.

    Cheers,
    Coty Candide

    • Hi Coty,

      Thanks for your comments. Sorry for the delayed response. You can subscribe yourself and submit your posts.

      I will be very glad to see your mails.

      Regards,
      Kumar

  2. Hello everyone. I am new and thought I might introduce myself. I have been looking for somewhere to chill and skim some exceptional discussion. I believe itzkumar.wordpress.com will remedy this.

    I need to head off now, but am on the lookout for some awesome reading. Catch you later.

  3. Hello there!

    I’m new right here.Great to be here.
    Always like to talk about more information about programming and development.
    Wishing to know about jake?
    That I have come to find out is virtually a link between Cakephp and Joomla?
    How does these really merge and supply a direct effect to web development in php??

  4. Hey buddies,

    Have you read about the awesome [url=http://hdiphone.info/]iPhone HD[/url] which is supposed to come out in June?

    It will have more the screen resolution from the old one.
    The iPhone HD will have also more capacity!

    Check out the new blog about the [url=http://bit.ly/bJdX0G]HD iPhone[/url]!

    Best

    [B]Rupert K.[/B]

    P.S: [url=http://twitter.com/rupertkraki]Follow me on Twitter![/url]

  5. Hey fellas… I’m fresh here but I cannot wait to commence having/getting some wonderful chats along with you all! I just thought i would introduce myself to you all so hi there!

    • Hi,

      Thanks for getting into my blog. You can subscribe your self and add your posts. I would love to see your posts soon.

      Regards,
      Kumar.

  6. Hey

    Really glad to get into this forum
    It’s what I am looking for.
    Hope to know more member here.

  7. Hey I am new here. I’m sorry if thisis the wrong place for this
    post but I was hopingsome one here on itzkumar.wordpress.com would be able to assist me. Happy to be here.

    • Hey, Please subscribe to the blog and then you can post your post here. It would be great if you can do that for me.

Leave a Reply

